Reminder: Big fine if you fail to stop for school buses
The current Illinois law provides that the driving privileges of a person convicted of passing a stopped school bus to load or unload children when its stop signal arm is extended will be suspended for three months for the first offense, and one year for the second, if the second conviction occurs within five years. Additionally, the fine for a first conviction is $150 and $500 for a second or subsequent conviction.
According to the Illinois State Police, drivers are required to stop their vehicle before passing the school bus from either direction. An exception is when the driver is on a highway with four or more lanes with at least two lanes of traffic in either direction. If the driver is going in the opposite direction of the bus, they do not have to stop.
Also, drivers who speed through a school zone must appear in court and face a minimum fine of $150.